“Courage! I have shown it for years; think you I shall lose it at the moment when my sufferings are to end?” – MARIE ANTOINETTE

Marie Antoinette – What a very brave woman…

It’s unfortunate that she had to meet a tragic end.

Whenever I read articles about Marie Antoinette I can’t help but marvel at the strength of her character – her silent yet evident and notable bravery she had shown during the reign of terror. Not even for a single moment did she lose grip of her sanity nor lose grip of her dignity as a queen. She serves as an inspiration to me and hopefully to others who will take the time to really make a research and know about her real story. She was a woman of virtue and she had proven it until the end.

4 Responses to “Courage! I have shown it for years; think you I shall lose it at the moment when my sufferings are to end?” – MARIE ANTOINETTE

  1. A true dignified princess. Have you seen this statue personally? I find it rather odd having depicted them in Empire style clothing…

    • lemraq says:

      I agree with you. If I remember what I read correctly some people had their body exhumed and transferred them there after the French Revolution to give them proper burial, but I’m not sure. I haven’t yet gone to France but I’m planning to go there just to see that statue.

  2. Yes, it was Louis XVIII who had their remains exhumed from what was left of the Madeleine Cemetery in 1815 and transferred to St. Denis for a proper burial. Louis XVIII had a Neoclassical French chapel designed and dedicated to his brother and Marie Antoinette on top of where their remains were found. It is called the Chapelle expiatoire and is in the 8th arrondissement. When you come to Paris I could show you!

  3. Carmelle says:

    Yes, right, right. Thank you! It was Louise XVIII. Thank you for your offer. You’re so kind. :)

Leave a Reply

