Holy Week

I participated in Holy Week as best as I could for this year, and while I was participating in the Easter Vigil, I realized how blessed I am for being born in Catholicism through a devout Catholic family that sticks strictly to Catholic teachings and values; for being provided by God through the Catholic Church with as many means as possible for me to stay in God’s grace. We have the Mass and the Eucharist – the fulfillment of Jesus’ promise that He shall be with us until the end of time. And I’ve witnessed a baptism of an adult in the Catholic Church for the very first time, and we were informed that since the adult is already an adult when baptized, that person will immediately receive the Sacrament of Confirmation. Unlike Catholics who have been baptized as infants, we need to wait until the age of consent for us to receive the Sacrament of Confirmation. The only prayer I have for the converts, and all Catholics as well, is that, with the grace of God, they remain firm in their faith no matter what happens.  Nobody said it’s easy to be a Catholic.

May God bless the Catholic Church.

4 Responses to Holy Week

  1. David says:

    I’d love to hear details about the Vigil mass. How many readings, how long was the mass? Were you moved by the baptism? I share your prayers. They need you to help them grow in faith. They are newly sprouted seeds, very tender, very subject to elements of evil. If appropriate, maybe you can make a new friend!

  2. lemraq says:

    The Vigil Mass was surprisingly too long. For me, at least. Because it was the first time I attended one and I wasn’t informed that it takes that long. There were six Responsorial Psalms and they sing everything. From the lighting of the candle up to the end of the Mass. There’s also a procession after the Mass, but I didn’t go. The Mass ended at 12:30am.

  3. David says:

    It is traditionally a long mass. There’s the Exsultet, and as many as 9 readings with responsorial psalms in between each reading. Then there’s the baptisms and confirmations before the Eucharist. I know it’s long (you could have asked me!), but I’m glad you made it through, because it’s the most solemn mass of the year. The one in St. Peters lasted 3 hours plus. Mine lasted 3 1/2. I’m proud to know you went. Would you do it again next year?

  4. lemraq says:

    3 1/2 hours??? Wow…

    Truth is, I had no time to ask you, or anyone, how long it would take because I honestly never thought I was attending in the first place. My older sister just informed me we’re attending the Easter Vigil that very same day and never really gave me time to decide if I want to attend or not. I asked her if it’s a day of obligation and she told me, “Well, this is one of the most important days in Holy Week”, so I assumed it’s a day of obligation. I later on found out that it isn’t when we were on the way to Church. I can’t promise of doing it again next year, but we’ll see. Thank you for the encouragement. God bless you. :)

Leave a Reply

