Why knowing how to cook is very important

Here I am once again, trying to make it up to my blog site. I have been busy since Christmas, so I wasn’t able to update my blog.

Anyway, a thought about cooking just hit me while I was cooking my dinner. Nowadays, for some reason, so many women find cooking abhorrent thinking that it’s beneath them. They’re thinking that they’re playing the role of a traditional woman, but it shouldn’t be that way. It’s very important to know how to cook, if not for others, at least for yourself. You don’t want to come home without anything good to eat at home, do you? I personally don’t want to, especially after work. My mom never liked cooking, but she learned to cook very well eventually. But before she did, there were so many trials and errors. She’s not used to cooking actually, because she’s used to having a house helper cook for us. House helpers never last long working for us because they also have a family of their own to attend to (at least that’s how I understand it). It’s not easy to find trustworthy house helpers, so eventually my mom just decided to stop hiring one and decided to do the cooking herself. I remember the time when she first tried cooking, she burnt the food. It’s hell, especially if you’re very hungry and the only food available is the food she cooked. It insulted her when we ignored her cooking, but we were insensitive back then, so we chose to eat outside. Back then her cooking wasn’t something that anyone would look forward to eating after work, but when she became good at cooking, it’s always good to come home for a home-cooked meal. My mom cooks so well now that everyone who tasted her cooking never fails to give her compliments about it. My mom still claims she doesn’t like cooking at all, but she takes the time to check out recipes and try them, and she seems happy when we say her cooking is very delicious; that we want more of it. I don’t know why my mom decided to take her cooking seriously. I just know that for someone who doesn’t like cooking, she’s really good at it. I always look forward to her home-cooked meals on my way home. I don’t know what my mom’s motivation to cook better, but whatever it is, I’m grateful for it. Personally, the reason why I tried cooking myself is because I want to eat good food. At least I know how I prepared it, how clean it is, and what ingredients I want to be included in my cooking. I love experimenting when it comes to foods, actually, and even with beverages. I love food-tripping, so I consider myself adventurous in that area. Although, you wouldn’t see me eating at a pure exotic restaurants where they serve snake meat, live coconut worms, and other disgusting stuffs they call “exotic food”. One of the reasons why I think knowing how to cook good food is because I do believe that one of the ways to people’s hearts is through their stomach. Don’t you agree? They will never forget you because everytime they remember how delicious your cooking is, they will always remember you and all your other good qualities. The people who have tasted my cooking told me they love it, and hearing the compliments I receive is gratifying. I encourage people to try cooking and see what I’m talking about, but keep in mind that when you cook, always do it with dedication, else, the outcome is unappetizing.

4 Responses to Why knowing how to cook is very important

  1. YB says:

    ayun! sa wakas nagupdate din! ^_^

  2. David says:

    Well, you know I love to cook. And anyone who practices any art loves to hear how people love their cooking. My wife is the same as your mom, had ya-yas to cook for her both growing up and in her first marriage, but when the chips were down, when she moved to the States, she learned to cook. Now her grandchildren ache for Lola’s sinegang, and tell their other grandparents that this lola’s is better than theirs. Her sinegang is very, very good, by the way, and so is her beefsteak and her adobo.

    God bless! Keep the faith.

Leave a Reply

