Sleep apnea, sleep paralysis, paranormal activity, or what?

Two nights ago I had this half-awake-half-asleep nightmare experience and I was having a hard time breathing. I was trying to shake myself awake, but to no avail. I tried to shout, but no voice came out. I tried and tried until finally I was able to utter the word, “Help!” I did it several times. It didn’t sound like “Help” at all though, but rather very hard to distinguish words. Thankfully, my older sister heard me and woke me up. I opened my eyes, but not totally, just enough for me to stir myself up from my sleep completely. Even though a bit groggy still, I forced myself to go down the stairs and get my Rosary. I wrapped it around my wrist and tried going back to sleep. I don’t know if what caused my nightmare is due to too much fatigue that I experienced sleep paralysis, or is it because of my asthma preventing little oxygen to go to my brain, or is it a paranormal activity (I’m considering all possibilities)? Whatever caused it, I hate it when nightmares like that happen. I thought it was the end of me, if it wasn’t because of my older sister waking me up, I think I’m still sleeping up to now, no kidding.

By the way, the one I saw in my nightmare standing beside the bed has this face (this face has always freaked me out, but that’s so long ago. I didn’t even watch the movie):

2 Responses to Sleep apnea, sleep paralysis, paranormal activity, or what?

  1. David says:

    Sometimes nightmares and dreams are defense mechanisms that help us realize we’re in trouble when we’re sleeping. I hope that’s all it was. That face would wake me up, too…:)

Leave a Reply

