I think it’s time for me to go to confession…

And clear my conscience and restore my relationship with God. I know people around me have this idea that I’m not religious, but I am. For years I haven’t gone to confession, thus, for years I haven’t received Communion as well. Right this very moment I feel like confessing, but at the same time I think I’m not ready yet… then again, I feel that I really want to… *sigh* I’m torn…
The last time I prayed the Rosary, which was, I think two weeks ago, It felt like I wasn’t even worthy to pray it… I know I shouldn’t feel that way, but I did… and it felt like God wasn’t listening to me because I’m not worthy of His attention. I rarely attend Mass, and to a Catholic, it’s a mortal sin. I was never a good Catholic nor even tried to be, but I know my Catholic obligations, and I have intentionally failed to fulfill them… I think that’s what’s eating me up.

21 Responses to I think it’s time for me to go to confession…

  1. David says:

    I will pray that you do. Even if you don’t go to confession right this minute, please start attending Mass.

    Remember that the longest journey starts with a single step. God is calling you, he loves you, he wants you, he died for you. Come back.

    Again, I will pray for you. If you have questions or need a friend, I’m at rootofjesse2.wordpress.com.

    • lemraq says:

      thank you so much for your encouraging words. I’m glad you bumped into my blog… it is no coincidence. thank you for your prayers, I really need them. I’ll keep your words in mind. thank you so much for extending your kindness. I really appreciated it. I’ll pray for you, too, in return. I visited your blog site and found your blog entries to be very inspiring… I want to add you to my blog roll, I hope you don’t mind. God bless!

      • David says:

        You are correct, it is no coincidence. There are no coincidences with God. Please let me know how your journey is going.

        Please don’t hesitate to add me, don’t hesitate to ask questions. Something drove you away from the Church to begin with, and we can straighten it all out.

        Just so you know, I’m a Monday-Friday blogger, weekends are for God and family, and next week I’m taking a trip to Atlanta with a side trip to EWTN.

        But you are loved, you are in my prayers, you are one of God’s precious children. Don’t let any doubt of these things keep you from being in His grace. Pray the rosary and contemplate His supreme sacrifice for you!

        God loves you.

      • lemraq says:

        I would gladly keep you updated. It’s nice to have someone help me in my journey by encouraging me and praying for me. I will do the same for you. I pray that you have a safe trip. Thank you so much!

  2. David says:

    I like your header art, by the way…

  3. David says:

    Just checking in to see if you went to mass this weekend? I think you should remember that it was Feast of All Saints yesterday and Feast of All Souls today…Not judging, but encouraging, and wanting to help you down the road to your enlightenment. God bless! You’re welcome.

    • lemraq says:

      I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t… I’m planning to go next week, though. Honestly, I’m confused between All Souls Day and All Saints Day, which comes first. By the way, I’m planning to go to confession. I already planned on jotting down my sins on paper so that I won’t miss any when I confess. It’s all plans for now, but I will be able to execute them soon. Thank you for your support and encouragement. God Bless! :)

      • David says:

        Good! If you need help, Google “Examination of conscience”. But don’t dive too deep at first. Get those mortal sins confessed, and then you can attack the next level. If you go monthly, eventually it will be therapeutic, where you’re just trying to work on stuff like driving while waving one finger out the window :) .

        Since Halloween is All Hallows Eve, those we hallow are the Saints, so All Saints day is next. Then we turn to think of the souls that haven’t made it to heaven yet.

        Try and make it to a specific mass every Sunday, don’t just plan to go when it fits your schedule. Make an appointment with God every Sunday. And stop depriving yourself of that spiritual meal (the Eucharist).

        You are on the right track. Keep it up!

      • lemraq says:

        I agree, I have been depriving myself of the Eucharist. I have been going downhill in the spiritual aspect of my life for years now. I think one of my mistakes, even though I am grateful I was born into Catholicism, I took Catholicism and God for granted resulting in my neglect on my spiritual obligations. Part of the reason why I failed going to Mass is because of my laziness. I always love staying at home, but I had to leave the house on weekdays, so when weekends come, I feel reluctant to leave the house. But yes, I’ll go to Mass soon. Thank you so much for your encouragement! God bless! :)

  4. Matterhorn says:

    Dear Lemraq, are you familiar with the Eastern Catholic rite? I don’t mean the Orthodox, but the actual Eastern Catholics (eg. the Ukrainian Catholics?) Their liturgy and whole approach to the Faith is very beautiful and consoling. You might like it.

    • lemraq says:

      Dear Matterhorn,
      I think I heard of that, but I wasn’t sure so I looked it up. seems very interesting. I would love to hear their songs of praise. It seems very solemn, in which I am very comfortable with, and also what I prefer. Yes, I also think I might like it. What are the countries that practice Eastern Catholic rite other than Ukraine?

      • Matterhorn says:

        There are various Middle Eastern groups that use it too, in Arabic. I just personally really like the Ukrainian churches. Another advantage (for me, as I am a Traditionalist) of the Eastern rite is that in many cases (in contrast to the changes in the Roman rite since Vatican II) they have kept their traditional liturgy and sacramental forms.

      • lemraq says:

        I really would like to experience it as I am a traditionalist, too! But in our country, we are following the Vatican II. There’s a religious organization here called Opus Dei. I heard they’re very traditional and I planned to join, but I was discouraged due to so many reasons. I’m curious, do Eastern Catholics pray the Rosary? :)

      • Matterhorn says:

        There is no reason why they couldn’t pray the Rosary, but I think it is less featured among the Eastern Catholics. There is, however, a tradition of reciting the Jesus Prayer repeatedly:

        O Lord Jesus Christ Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.

      • lemraq says:

        I heard the Jesus Prayer several times but now that you mentioned it, I realized I never prayed it. I will start praying it from now on. I want to know more about Catholicism, but I don’t know where to begin… :(

      • Matterhorn says:

        I thought perhaps I should make my position clearer. I am a Traditionalist because over the years, serious doubts have been raised regarding the orthodoxy and even the validity of the post-Vatican II rites. Of course, I am no theologian or church authority, but I feel it is safer to stick with the traditional rites (whether Eastern Catholic or Roman). I just thought I would mention this. God bless.

      • lemraq says:

        It’s fine. I understand your position perfectly well. I, too, would like to stick to Traditions that’s why I was never a fan of Charismatic movements. And you’re right, it is safer. Catholics before us have followed the very same Traditions and they have lived an exemplary lives. I don’t see any reason to change it.

      • David says:

        Matterhorn, if you want to be really traditionalist, you should celebrate the mass of Pope St. Clement I. It is the same mass as the Novus Ordo Mass today, except that it was said or chanted in Latin. The only difference in today’s mass is that it is said in the language of the people.

        Have there been liturgical abuses since V II? Most certainly! People have desecrated the Eucharist by creating their own recipes, priests have added words to the liturgy, there are tons of problems, but if you can go to a real mass celebrated the way Pope Paul VI wanted it, you would see that it’s not so very different from the Tridentine. What I’m saying is that the rite is not the problem. The people are the problem.

        If you go to mass and focus on worshipping God, it really doesn’t matter what’s going on around you. That said, when the mass is solemn, I know I can focus on God better.

        God bless.

      • David says:

        Opus Dei is very traditional and conservative. But only do what God tells you in prayer. I’m back!

      • lemraq says:

        Welcome back! how have you been? :)

        Yes. I like Opus Dei. Even up to now, I do like it. I am very conservative and very traditional, too, that’s why I think Opus Dei is right for me. I prefer going to confession at an Opus Dei Church, even though I didn’t join. After I attended Catholic charismatic worship (I don’t really remember how it’s called), I know for sure that I don’t feel comfortable with that kind of worship. I like solemnity where I can talk heart to heart with God.

Leave a Reply

